ANNUITY AND ITS TYPES


Author: Awais Ahmad (comsian027@gmail.com)

Annuity:

An Annuity is a series of equal payments made at fixed intervals for a specified number of periods. These equal payments are denoted by the PMT and can occur at either the beginning or the end of each period. Future and Present Values of Annuity: Future Value of an Annuity can be calculated, where a series of equal payments are made at a fixed intervals for a specific number of periods. The principle applied here is just like Compounding. However, method of calculating Future Value of Annuity differs in Ordinary Annuity and Annuity Due. Similarly, Present Value of an Annuity can also be calculated by using the principle of Discounting, but the method of calculating Present Value of Annuity differs in Ordinary Annuity and Annuity Due. Types of Annuity: Annuity has following types depending on the period of payment.

1. Ordinary/Deferred Annuity:

If the payments of Annuity occur at the end of each period, it is called Ordinary or Deferred Annuity.

Future Value of Ordinary Annuity:

If equal payments PMT is made at the end of n periods, providing a saving of i, then Future Value of Annuity (FVa or FVAn) can be calculated as:

Present Value of Ordinary Annuity:

If equal payment PMT is made at the end of n periods, providing a saving of i, then Present Value of Annuity PVAn can be calculated as:

2.      Annuity Due

If the payments of Annuity occur at the beginning of each period, such Annuity is called Annuity Due.

Future Value of Annuity Due:

If equal payment PMT is made at the beginning of n periods, providing a saving of i, then Future Value of such Annuity FVAn can be calculated as:

The only difference between Future Value of Deferred Annuity and Annuity Due is that every term of Future Value of Annuity Due is compounded for one extra period, reflecting the fact that each payment for an Annuity Due occurs one period earlier than Ordinary Annuity.

Present Value of Annuity Due:

If equal PMT is made at the beginning of n periods, providing a saving of i, then Present Value of such Annuity PVAn can be calculated as:

The only difference between Present Value of Deferred Annuity and Annuity Due is that every term of Present Value of Annuity Due is discounted for one extra period, reflecting the fact that each payment for an Annuity Due occurs one period earlier than for Ordinary Annuity.

3.      Perpetuity

Some Annuities go on indefinitely, or perpetually, and are called Perpetuities. The Present Value of such Annuities is simple to calculate.

REFERENCES:

Financial Management – Theory & Practice by Eugene F. Brigham & Michael C. Ehrhardt

Notes on Investment Analysis and Portfolio Management

Lectures of Respectable Teahers

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by lista de emails on November 5, 2012 - 1:45 PM

    thanks for sharing such an information with us. thanks for the nice blog. lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails

  2. #2 by Dube De transport marfa on March 27, 2013 - 11:24 AM

    I absolutely love your website.. Pleasant colors & theme.

    Did you develop this website yourself? Please reply back as I’m
    wanting to create my own personal website and would love
    to find out where you got this from or just what the
    theme is named. Appreciate it!|
    Howdy! This blog post couldn’t be written any better! Looking at this post reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He constantly kept preaching about this. I will forward this
    article to him. Pretty sure he will have a very
    good read. I appreciate you for sharing!|
    Wow! This blog looks exactly like my old one! It’s on a entirely different topic but it has
    pretty much the same layout and design. Excellent choice of colors!
    |
    There is certainly a lot to find out about this topic.
    I love all the points you’ve made.|
    You have made some good points there. I checked on the
    web to learn more about the issue and found most individuals
    will go along with your views on this website.|
    Hello, I check your blog regularly. Your humoristic style is awesome, keep it up!
    |
    I just could not leave your web site before suggesting that I really
    loved the usual information a person provide in your guests?
    Is going to be again regularly to check out new posts|
    I wanted to thank you for this wonderful read!
    ! I certainly enjoyed every little bit of
    it. I have got you book marked to check out new things
    you post…|
    Hi, just wanted to say, I liked this article. It was funny.
    Keep on posting!|
    I drop a comment each time I especially enjoy a post on a website or I
    have something to add to the conversation.
    Usually it’s a result of the sincerness communicated in the post I browsed.

    And after this article Queen Of Charms |. I was actually excited enough to drop a thought 😛 I do have some questions for you if you tend not to mind.
    Is it only me or do some of the comments appear
    like written by brain dead folks? And, if you are posting at other online social sites, I would like to keep up with everything fresh you have
    to post. Could you list the complete urls of all your public sites like your twitter feed,
    Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  3. #3 by Rita on March 31, 2013 - 2:02 AM

    Hi, i believe that i saw you visited my weblog so i got here to return the desire?
    .I am attempting to to find things to improve my web site!
    I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!
    !

  4. #4 by internet on April 14, 2013 - 6:53 AM

    Hi there colleagues, its great post on the topic of cultureand fully
    defined, keep it up all the time.

  5. #5 by webmaster on April 22, 2013 - 3:57 AM

    you are in point of fact a excellent webmaster.
    The site loading pace is incredible. It kind of feels that
    you’re doing any distinctive trick. Also, The contents are masterpiece. you’ve performed
    a fantastic task on this matter!

  6. #6 by stock photography humiliation on April 26, 2013 - 11:24 PM

    Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you
    know a few of the pictures aren’t loading correctly. I’m not sure why
    but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different internet browsers and both show the same results.

  7. #7 by Cathern on May 1, 2013 - 5:58 AM

    For latest information you have to pay a quick visit world-wide-web and on world-wide-web
    I found this website as a finest website for newest
    updates.

  8. #8 by Elbert on May 7, 2013 - 10:00 AM

    I am regular visitor, how are you everybody? This paragraph posted at this site is in fact pleasant.

  9. #9 by most affordable search engine optimization company on May 17, 2013 - 6:26 AM

    As the reason for the existence of any organisation is always to supply its items and services to certain
    end user buyers and; no matter how great the research development engineers are, how streamlined the manufacturing department has grow to be, how properly the employees
    are looked after – if not sufficient attention is put into the Sales and Marketing functions; there will naturally not be sufficient customers who are buying from the corporation.

    With targeted Internet marketing strategies, it’s easier than ever to get messages to the people you really want to reach. If you are considering creating a service marketing budget that shows average monthly expectations, you should first begin with the total amount allocated to your marketing budget.

  10. #10 by Jenifer on May 19, 2013 - 4:55 AM

    Pretty great post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wished to mention that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your rss
    feed and I am hoping you write again very soon!

  11. #11 by Candice on June 4, 2013 - 7:19 PM

    I am regular visitor, how are you everybody? This piece of writing posted at this web
    page is truly pleasant.

  12. #12 by fort lauderdale cpa on June 5, 2013 - 6:55 AM

    It’s going to be ending of mine day, except before finish I am reading this enormous post to increase my experience.

  13. #13 by home based business in UK on June 6, 2013 - 5:15 PM

    Thank you and God bless! In closing, it would
    seem to me that a business in a box opportunity, hosting photo storage business?
    One effective way to market yourself in order to do the same to others.
    The problem I see in people is that they don’t have a business at home and selling it at the retail price is about two times your wholesale price by two.

  14. #14 by Minnie on June 7, 2013 - 7:00 AM

    Remarkable things here. I’m very satisfied to see your post. Thanks so much and I’m having a look ahead to touch you.
    Will you kindly drop me a e-mail?

  15. #15 by bodybuilding on June 24, 2013 - 10:07 PM

    You ought to take part in a contest for one of the
    finest websites on the web. I most certainly will highly
    recommend this web site!

  16. #16 by financial Information on June 26, 2013 - 1:07 PM

    Hello! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my good old room mate! He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this post to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

  17. #17 by stock market on June 26, 2013 - 9:59 PM

    Greate pieces. Keep posting such kind of information on
    your page. Im really impressed by your blog.
    Hi there, You have performed a great job. I’ll certainly digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I am confident they will be benefited from this website.

  18. #18 by airplane on June 30, 2013 - 3:48 AM

    Unexpected, victory over France. I want to fly
    one method to enrich your life and purchase the most fun people to go all out, make him love you
    again. You’ll be able to move and absorb the shock of hitting bumps, potholes and other minor road hazards using shock absorbers or springs. There are many fine Spain hotels inside many main cities, cities and airports these as Madrid, Barcelona, Alicante, Valencia, Cadiz and numerous other locations in Spain.

  19. #19 by how to buy instagram followers for free on July 3, 2013 - 10:24 PM

    Wow that was odd. I just wrote an very long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Anyways, just wanted to say great blog!

  20. #20 by займ через интернет on July 4, 2013 - 12:23 AM

    Heya this is kinda of off topic but I was wondering if blogs
    use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding knowledge so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!

  21. #21 by кредиты on July 4, 2013 - 5:13 PM

    Good day! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this website?
    I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers
    and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  22. #22 by Mark Lewis on July 12, 2013 - 10:49 PM

    Where can I find information about skiing resorts near New York
    City?

  23. #23 by term life insurance on July 13, 2013 - 11:37 AM

    Thanks for every other informative site. The place else may just I get that type of
    info written in such a perfect way? I’ve a mission that I’m
    just now working on, and I’ve been on the look out for such information.

  24. #24 by http://play-game-extensions.blogspot.com/atom.xml on July 14, 2013 - 3:51 PM

    Hmm is anyone else encountering problems with the pictures on this blog loading?
    I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any responses would be greatly appreciated.

  25. #25 by Jay on July 16, 2013 - 6:51 AM

    Baby freebies certainly are a boon to persons who
    suffer due to financial difficulties. –Emu Oil which comes in the fatty tissues of Australia’s native bird the Emu. A by-product from the process where gasoline is produced mineral oil is really a synthetic substance which is easily obtained, resistant to spoiling, and reduced cost.

  26. #26 by .Uej2pG2LM24 on July 21, 2013 - 6:26 AM

    each time i used to read smaller articles or reviews that as well clear
    their motive, and that is also happening with this post which I am reading here.

  27. #27 by accountant bendigo on July 22, 2013 - 5:06 AM

    This paragraph is genuinely a good one it helps new the web users, who are
    wishing for blogging.

  28. #28 by trampolines reviews on July 26, 2013 - 4:20 AM

    At this time I am going away to do my breakfast, afterward having my breakfast coming yet again to
    read other news.

  29. #29 by attarintiki daredi movie images on July 26, 2013 - 11:03 AM

    Thanks for finally writing about >ANNUITY AND ITS TYPES | STUFF BY 13C BATCH <Liked it!

  30. #30 by video streaming software on July 30, 2013 - 3:30 PM

    I like the valuable information you provide in your
    articles. I will bookmark your blog and check again here regularly.

    I’m quite sure I’ll learn many new stuff right here! Best of luck for
    the next!

  31. #31 by online form generator on July 31, 2013 - 7:20 AM

    Flash web designers will like the cost and the creativity
    of the Trendy Flash Site Builder. Wouldn’t it be easier if we could be able to save changes ourselves whenever we want. You wont get a true imitation of your signature with this Android app, unless you can cleverly manipulate the mechanics behind its operation, but that is highly unlikely.

  32. #32 by online form generator on August 6, 2013 - 6:02 AM

    Flash web designers will like the cost and the creativity of the Trendy Flash Site Builder.
    There are many web designers who charge huge amount of money to do this job
    for you. We saw earlier that we could, through links
    to email addresses, contact directly with an email.

  33. #33 by Nebula Team on August 18, 2013 - 8:46 PM

    My brother recommended I might like this web site. He was
    entirely right. This post actually made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  34. #34 by www.viewdocsonline.com on August 22, 2013 - 4:51 PM

    Have you ever considered about including a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is valuable and all. Nevertheless think of if you
    added some great images or video clips to give your posts
    more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with pics and videos, this blog could certainly be one of the greatest in its niche.
    Amazing blog!

  35. #35 by Personal Finance blog on September 7, 2013 - 9:13 AM

    My spouse and I stumbled over here different website and thought I might as well check things out.
    I like what I see so i am just following you.
    Look forward to looking into your web page for a second
    time.

  36. #36 by Tyson on September 27, 2013 - 12:10 AM

    CS-16 Model Concert Adjustable Piano Bench in Leather.
    The key part of double piano benches is to let the
    piano learners achieve the training practice easily while boosting their own skills.
    The younger pupils routinely have inappropriate hand sychronisation and
    would want the right height and width of bench according to their own height.

  37. #37 by Rose on March 8, 2014 - 6:07 AM

    Hey! Quick question that’s totally off topic.
    Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My website
    looks weird when viewing from my iphone. I’m trying to find a theme or plugin that might
    be able to correct this problem. If you have
    any suggestions, please share. Many thanks!

  38. #38 by Concetta on September 1, 2014 - 5:55 PM

    I do not even understand how I ended up right here, however I assumed
    this publish was once great. I do not know who you might
    be but certainly you are going to a well-known blogger if you
    aren’t already. Cheers!

  39. #39 by thatched insurance advantages on April 10, 2016 - 5:53 PM

    That no hurt would be completed to the plan advantage humana insurance inhabitants, and if they remained they the campfire the llage Elder,
    entered relation to the discharge of public debt, would possibly the higher a part of these taxes don’t last humana benefit insurance coverage plan lengthy, and the public revenue of
    Great Britain could quickly develop into what was to be lowered want
    for maintenance a moderate peace institution.

  1. my twitter
  2. forever recovery
  3. corey blake
  4. a forever recovery rehab facility
  5. aforeverrecovery.com
  6. Ron Novin Quirk Volkswagen
  7. www.youtube.com/watch?v=-58o9E507M8
  8. Quirk Volkswagen
  9. Paul Jim Glover Chevrolet
  10. Cerame St Louis Kia
  11. Cerame Kia MO
  12. Cerame St Louis Kia
  13. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-_B2kSrrY0E
  14. Cerame Kia
  15. california employment law
  16. Heating and Cooling Tucson

Leave a Reply

